Elections for mayors of three corporations of Delhi on June 24

Image Source : PTI

Elections for mayors of three corporations of Delhi on June 24

Polls to elect mayors and deputy mayors of the three corporations in Delhi are slated to be held on June 24, officials said on Friday.

This is perhaps the first time when mayoral elections for the three civic bodies — NDMC, SDMC and EDMC — will be held on the same day.

The then unified Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) was trifurcated into north, south and east Delhi municipal corporations in 2012.

“The polls to elect mayors for the three corporations will be held on June 24. For the new South Delhi mayor, the exercise will take place in the morning, for North Delhi mayor, in the afternoon, and then for East Delhi mayor. All safety protocols as applicable on that date shall be followed,” a senior civic official.

The outgoing mayors are Avtar Singh (NDMC), Sunita Kangra (SDMC) and Anju Kamalkant (EDMC).

The three municipal corporations in Delhi are controlled by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

The mayoral five-year tenure sees five single-year terms on a rotation basis, with the first year being reserved for women, the second open category, third for reserved category, and the remaining two also being for open category.

The polls got delayed this year due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Latest India News

Fight against Coronavirus: Full coverage

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *